Have a feature request or suggestion? Post your idea here!

Post

7 followers Follow
0
Avatar

Unwanted automatic synchronizing PC to USB

Hello,

I'm using the feature SYNC MANAGER in Rekordbox to keep all of the tracks and playlists on my USB/SD devices up-to-date. Great feature!

But: What happens now is that when, after inserting the device in my PC, I left or right click on the device(name) in Rekordbox, it starts to export automatically, 

I want to keep using SYNC MANAGER, but I want it to start at my command. Sometimes I only want to 'Update collection', which needs a right-click. But that click activates the auto sync/export.

I can't find any setting to change this. Did I miss something?

 

Leon Hartog Answered

Official comment

Avatar

This is because you have the checkbox in the SYNC MANAGER enabled:

Uncheck the synchronize and manage them manually if you don't want it to automatically sync and export when you connect / use the device.

Pulse
Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.

14 comments

0
Avatar

Hello Mark,

Thank you for your response. Unfortunately, it does not solve my problem. I already have this setting on 'OFF'. Besides, it is only used when your source tracks are on an external drive. I have the issue with a normal export situation: Source tracks on a PC, destination is a USB stick.

Of course I know it's always wise to first do a sync from PC to USB before updating the collection from USB to PC, unless you're 100% sure what you're doing. But it's just strange that Sync Manager starts working as soon as you (left or right) click on the device.

Leon Hartog 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

I'm working out of my office right now, so I can't confirm this 100% without a device to test it, but I believe there is a checkbox in the SYNC MANAGER to disable that functionality.

Pulse 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

Thank you, Pulse, but no. The only option is to turn off sync. That is not what I want.

Leon Hartog 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

Hi,

I am experiencing the same issue. I have the sync automatically turned OFF in the settings, but whenever I click my device it starts syncing automatically. 

Please rekordbox team fix this ASAP, this is super annoying. Sometimes I don't have time to sync my device, but I do need to check my playlists. 

Deep Filip 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

Couldnt solve this problem too. I have an old usb with my old playlists from another macbook. Just putted the usb , started the rekorbox and all my playlists are gone(but the files are still on usb, only playlists were deleted) . Earlier i could import my old playlists to the new macbook from usb

Timur Musin 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

@Pulse i CAN NOT to uncheck it! I just put on the usb and it starts to delete all the playlists without asking me, and when i put another usb, then uncheck the sync, then put the one with old playlists it continues to delete them!

Timur Musin 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

Okay... so sync them first (so they're up to date within rekordbox), then un-sync, then re-export them manually.

Pulse 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

This is not a solution, but a time-consuming workaround. Can't I just check the contents of a device without it being synced first?

Leon Hartog 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

@Leon > If you had previously set the device to be used with the sync manager, you would need to disable it first.

Pulse 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

Hi! Auto export is switched off but It's automatically sync. I don't want to sync. Can you help me? 

csollak ferenc 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

The easy unofficial fix for this

  1. Quit Rekordbox (important!)
  2. on the CDJ USB drive open the folder 
    /PIONEER/rekordbox/
    This folder might be hidden on HFS formatted USB drives (Google 'how to view hidden folders on MacOS', it's easy)
  3. rename the file 
    playlists3.sync
    to something else (I iuse 1playlists3.sync for easy toggling)
  4. Start Rekordbox and you'll see the autosync is disabled in the sync manager. You can re-enable it by renaming the playlists3.sync file, while Rekordbox is closed!)

 

And now you can safely stick your USB in someone else's Rekordbox without sync starting (always chose not to sync "my tags"! when using your USB on another Rekordbox collection)

 

MixMasterG 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

Hi MixMaster G. This is a very nice workaround. Thanks!

Leon Hartog 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink